Home > Years 11-12 > Who are your MLAS

Who Are Your MLAs?

Who represents you in the Northern Ireland Assembly?

The people of Northern Ireland elect MLAs to represent them in the Assembly. MLAs make laws on our behalf and scrutinise the work of Ministers in charge of Government Departments.

MLAs represent the people in a particular area, called a constituency. For election to the Assembly, Northern Ireland is divided into 18 constituencies. Each constituency elects five MLAs, making a total of 90 MLAs.

Most MLAs belong to one of the political parties. Before an election,each party publishes a manifesto. These tell voters what the party believes in and what it plans to do if it is elected. Policies area party’s plans formatters, such as health, education or the environment.

The results of the last election to the Assembly on 2 March 2017 are:



Democratic Unionist Party (DUP)


Sinn Fein (SF)


Social Democratic and Labour Party (SDLP)


Ulster Unionist Party (UUP)


Alliance Party


Green Party


People before Profit Alliance


Traditional Unionist Voice (TUV)


Independent (not a member of a party)


You can vote in elections and stand as a candidate when you are aged 18. Your name can go on the electoral register at 17. Even if you can’t vote yet, MLAs for your constituency represent everyone living there, including you. They want to hear your views. If you have an issue that concerns you, contact your MLAs and ask if they can do something about it.

To do this, you need to know who they are. Perhaps you already do? If not, find out.

Who Are Your MLAs? | Northern Ireland Assembly Education Service


The website encountered an unexpected error. Please try again later.