Home > Years 8-10 > Who decides what

Who Decides What?

Why do we have MEPs, MPs, MLAs and Councillors?

There are four levels of government making decisions that affect you. They are the European Parliament; UK Parliament; Northern Ireland Assembly; and Local councils.

Because of the Belfast/Good Friday Agreement of 1998, the UK Parliament transferred a range of powers to the Northern Ireland Assembly. This means that local politicians now make decisions and laws about local issues affecting people in Northern Ireland.

We call these local issues Transferred Matters.

The UK Parliament and UK Government in London still make decisions that have a UK-wide or international impact.

We call these issues Excepted Matters.

The European Parliament makes laws affecting all the countries in the European Union.

Local councils deliver services at city or district level. They do not make laws.

Scroll around our street scene and find out if you know who decides what.